TYPEWRITTEN POEM 7

TYPEWRITTEN POEM 7

November 1996

10 comments

    • markrenney1

      Nothing compares to live music, which is an integral part our lives and memory. I always think of John Peel’s gravestone which has a line from his favourite song by The Undertones – ‘Teenage kicks so hard to beat’.

      • Tony Single

        I have no idea why I said, “These words awaken that in me.” That does read rather melodramatically, doesn’t it! But the sentiment still stands. The story you weaved does evoke a strong sense of being in a specific time and place that music fills all too well.

        Ugh. I’m making no sense! Someone slap me! 🙂

      • markrenney1

        You are making perfect sense. Music for me is often a means of escape and when I wrote this I think was trying to express that but the poem was written after a particular gig and for me it is rooted in a specific time and place. Condensation running down the walls.

    • markrenney1

      When I was younger I just used to take off to gigs without a second thought, but nowadays it all has to be pre-planned, tickets booked months ahead, holiday booked so I don’t have to worry about getting up the next day. Whilst it isn’t all bad, getting older, I do miss that spontaneity. Really pleased to have discovered your site. Regards Mark.

Leave a Reply

