TALK

Sign of the Times-0216 Image by Christine Renney

Talk is hard but it will find you.
It will make you feel.

Talk is skin and the heart beating
Too fast and
All the colours raging in your head

Talk is raw and it has edges
It is sharp and slimy

Talk is soft but it will hurt you
Talk will get lost
Others will take it and hide it
Keep it from you and you from it

Talk is skin and the heart beating
Too fast and
All the colours raging in your breast

Talk is hard
And it is soft

17 thoughts on “TALK

  1. I’m really enjoying your poetry, Mark. It feels like talk is all I get, and it feels like my talk is taken from me. I love how you’ve illustrated something of that here as well as some of its different facets.

    1. Good to get some positive feedback on this poem, Tony. I had put aside writing poetry but was inspired by a recent visit to a literature festival to get back up on that particular horse so thank you for your comment. Regards Mark.

      1. Oh… I feel really honored! Thank you!
        (I try to hold my breath… I don’t want that a mirror was covered with steam)

  2. Mark, this is wonderful. “Talk” appears to love you and hate you at the same time, perhaps it’s just useless painful noise. What a great line, “All the colours raging in your head”. You have produced some fabulous ideas here, so many variables, so much to think about, so good!

    Take care,
    Pepper

    1. Thank you so much Meg and the same to you. Hopefully our notebooks won’t lay unopened and forgotten. Regards Mark.

Leave a Reply

