RECONCILIATION

Christine and I have a new post on Hijacked Amygdala.

hijacked amygdala

chris-r-0318 Image by Christine Renney

We yell until each of us is hollow. She is sobbing. The sound hoarse and guttural. She is empty and has no more words and I no longer have to fend against them.
She shivers and I touch her. She is cold and I fetch a sweater from the bedroom. With a handful of kitchen towel she mops at her face, at the snot and tears.
The sweater is too big and sitting she pulls at herself from inside. I place my hands on her shoulders and press down gently, an effort to still her.
I feel remorse, it fills the hollow inside, I am full to brimming with it when she turns, ready for regret.

View original post

4 thoughts on “RECONCILIATION

  1. That was excellent Mark!! 🙂 Reads like a scene from a brilliant book, could even be the start of a book. Really well done, and a joy to read. It came across as very real to me, one of those small moments in life that sometimes you retain for many years.

Leave a Reply

