GHOST LETTER 33

Chris R-0314-2 Image by Christine Renney

I try to convince myself it is sudden, this want, this need. It has been growing inside of me, unbidden, a well without water.
How can I talk again after so long? Each time it surfaces I suppress it and resist. I could so easily run, abandon the City, and make again for the road, find that other place, the one in between here and there, where I could stand off to one side and, unheard, shout at the sky and down into the earth.
I look up, not because I must, or because I might stumble or have gotten too close to the edge and could fall into the abyss, I look up to see what is happening right here and now. But it is too bright and, squinting into the harsh light, I am hardly able to see. Everyone is moving so quickly and everything is blurred. At last someone slows a little and I focus on him.
I watch him moving in closer and he bends and drops a handful of coins onto the pavement in front of where I am sitting.
‘Thank you,‘ I say, staring down at them but when I raise my head he is gone.

6 thoughts on “GHOST LETTER 33

  1. Once again you have captured a real sense of isolation and being trapped with this continuation piece. There is a feel of hopelessness and yet hope here as if your character is clinging on to something deep within himself. Fine writing, Mark.

  2. I get such a feeling of unbearable exposure with this beautifully written piece Mark. I also appreciate its subtle thoroughness. The image is quite “painterly” which adds a needed beauty to this human condition. Nicely done guys….

Leave a Reply

